He Found It in Me

Female Statue Fountain-Photo By Jennifer Upton
I have followed God since I was a little girl. He and I met when I was 8 years old. I was so excited, filled with wonder, and on fire to tell my friends about the hope I had found in Jesus. He caught my heart, and hasn’t let me go. It hasn’t always been an easy walk. There was no bed of roses, but He has never left me nor forsaken me. He has stayed with me in every high and every low.

God has shown himself faithful even when I had moments of faithlessness. When my soul was in the depths of searing hurt and bitter darkness, He found me. He set my feet on solid ground, gave me Light, and restored my soul.

When I ponder Psalm 87, my mind thinks of the glory – the weight of His presence and the unfolding of His goodness found over my life. What stands out to me most are these words, “This one and that one were born in her; and the Most High Himself shall establish her” (NKJV 969). It may not seem like much at first when you’re identity-stuck, not remembering Whose you are, or trying to fit a worldly-man-made mold. Identity has been a struggle for me for years. Pretending, hiding, shirking authenticity, and beating around the bush were my go-to tactics for avoiding the truth – that I was fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139) and that God founded in me a good work (Ephesians 2).

You see, I had trouble believing God meant those words for me. In some twisted way, I thought they were for everyone else but me. It was a cruel way of punishing myself for my inability (on my own) to live perfect, and be perfect. It was as though I’d said the Cross wasn’t enough. I had fallen for a lie. It had bound my soul and crippled my spirit from walking in all the freedom Christ paid for me. But … God! He broke through, broke chains, and set me free. The Cross was always enough, has always been enough, and will always BE enough.

I let His words rest on me. “This one and that one were born in her; and the Most High Himself shall establish her” (NKJV 969). He has founded (birthed, set up, originated, and initiated) a promise, hope, and holy purpose in me – a thing that only I can do. God believes in me, has chosen me, has adopted me, and this undoes me! The God of the universe is intimately connected to me and concerned about my whole life, and He is set on establishing me. When you come to solid-rock truth that buoys your faith, it changes you from the inside out. It gives you confidence and makes you bold!

Imagine beloved. You were called, chosen, and accepted. God has good plans for you – to prosper you and give you a future and a hope (Jeremiah 29:11). God does some serious, heavy-duty work to establish us. All He asks is that we believe Him. He is set on establishing you, beloved.

20140205-002843.jpg

So what is it that is keep you from trusting that God is who He says He is and that He will do what He says He can and will do? What holds you back from believing that God will set your feet firmly upon a rock? What lies have stolen pieces of your faith and caused you to believe that the “glorious things spoken of [God]” for your life will not happen (NKJV 968)? Friend, you are a treasure and a wonder to behold. All your fountains can be found in God whose wells never run dry.

Do you hear the whisper? God is calling out to you; “this one – born in her [and him]” is a good work I’ve already founded (NKJV 969, 1985). God wants you to see what He has found in you.

Are you ready to see the glorious, beautiful work founded in you? Tell me your story. I’d love to hear it.

Reference

NKJV Study Bible. Radmacher, gen ed. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 1997.

Linking up with Stephanie Spencer for Psalms Journey this week. Come join the reflections and discussions.

”Psalms

2 thoughts on “He Found It in Me

Leave a Reply

