Why Are You Fearful?

Walk the Road

Walk the Road

So this is my year of intentional living. It means making each day matter, spending every ounce of a moment, and giving it everything I’ve got.

One word already feels stronger than a resolution. One word to describe what I want my life to look like in 2014 colors my perspective with hope. I like this.

It is empowering and encouraging. It is a divine whisper that will carry me through, move me forward, and remind me to live purposefully.

But there is a fear. It’s the idea of acting on the risk of launching a dream. It is stepping out in faith. I think today’s a good enough day to punch fear in the face and get to dreaming and building.

Jesus is a perfect example of fear punching. In the 4th chapter of Mark he and the disciples are on a boat and the weather gets crazy. The storm is fierce. The disciples are freaking out. And then this …

He arose and rebuked the wind, and said to the sea, “Peace, be still!” And the wind ceased and there was a great calm. But He said to them, “Why are you so fearful? How is it that you have no faith?” Mark 4:39-40

Jesus didn’t shrink back or tremble. He told the storm to be still. He rebuked that which caused fear to rise up. What happens next gets me thinking about the whole process of risk-taking.

Jesus asks the disciples why they’re fearful and have so little faith. Wow! I’d love to say he’d never have had to ask me that, but I’m as frail as the those disciples shaking in fear. I have only to look back at the last few years of life to know there were fears and less faith.

But… I read the words of Christ. I find no condemnation. Instead I find grace. I find His belief in me that I can overcome because He made it so. I find His word empowering me to stand my ground, face first in the wind, declaring I will triumph despite the raging torrent.

We were not meant to cower at the largeness of our dreams. We were each created for good works. Get that? In Ephesians we are reminded how “we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” That’s means us, you, me. We were created for the dreams bubbling up in our hearts. We were meant to walk them out. We were meant to make them a reality.

Are you ready to tell your storms to be still? You’ve got a great work to do. Don’t let fear rob you of the dream and the promise.

Let faith rise up. Let faith fuel the fire of your passion. Let faith embolden you.

Tell me. How will you punch fear in the face this year?

20140131-184401.jpg

5 thoughts on “Why Are You Fearful?

  1. “Today’s a good enough day to punch fear in the face and get to dreaming and building.” YES! I love you. Love your words. I just want to shout “Preach, sister!” So much truth here. I might think tomorrow will be a better day but just to know today is “enough” is inspiring. Thank you for reminding me I was created for good works and meant to work out my dreams.

  2. How will I punch fear in the face this year? Probably the same way I did it after reading your post today. I had been hesitating sending a business development note to a CEO of a small software company. Doing so could help me build my business. Fear kept me from sending it until I read this. Thank you!

  3. Pingback: Starting Again and Moving Forward {One Word 365}

Leave a Reply

