Five Minute Friday Small

Each Step Matters

Each Step Matters


  
Little ideas become big dreams. One tiny ember sets a forest on fire. Sparks ignite across the fibers of the soul. They all start small. Sometimes I’m not comfortable with small. It seems too rigorous, too difficult, too long till fruition. But then I stop and think of the grace found in small. Grace to grow into being. Grace to be made able to handle the increased responsibility of the ever-increasing gifts.
 
 
 

Ringing in my ears now: “a man’s gifts will make room for him” from Proverbs 18:16. Start small and grow into each day. Then another thought: “do not despise the day of small beginnings”. My beginning matters. The small matters, so I accept it with grateful enthusiasm.

Well, I think there’s a reason for small. There’s a reason it keeps popping up when I’m reading my bible or engaging in conversations. I don’t want any dream to auto-awaken before its time and throw me head first into messy confusion.

I want to be able to enjoy the unfolding story of change. I want to be able to fully embrace the branches stretching out before me calling me to step out in faith. I want to fully participate in this right-now-life even if things seems small from my perspective.

Do Not Despise

Do Not Despise

There is grace enough in the small things. So today, I’ll stop. Breathe deep. Exhale slowly. Survey life around me. I am grateful for this quiet unfolding. I know it will grow to be an incredible oak fueling the rest of my dreams. In it’s shade I’ll find quiet respite empowering me to endeavor.

Every little idea coursing through my veins will come to pass at just the right time. When I look back at the end of my life, I want to be able to say: “as it grew so did my faith, and hope, and ability.”

Maybe you want to join too Five Minute Friday too with Lisa-Jo Baker.

Here are the details:

1. Write for 5 minutes flat for pure unedited love of the written word.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. Be generous and leave an encouraging comment for the person who linked up before you. That’s the best part about this community.

Five Minute Friday

14 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday Small

  1. I need to focus on the small things more. I usually just look for the big things and big steps I need to take and forget that the small steps are the ones that usually make the difference.

  2. Small steps… it’s an “I can do” kind of thing. I can take one small step and pour into it gratitude and thanksgiving. There’s so much external pressure on us … but this is grace… the small steps. I really enjoyed your words, Marvia…. and your heart! Let the River keep flowing through your pen, my friend!

    • Thank you Susan. I’m entering a new season in which I will certainly need to take small steps so as not to overwhelm myself. Reassessing my schedule and where I will fit the writing, because I refuse to stop. I will step toward making time to make it happen.

  3. Those small steps are what allow you to relish each moment. And what lets each moment feed you as you move on to the next … based on the outcome of the moment before it. Especially during a healing time, this strategy offers the greatest hope of success. Overwhelm: lessened. Resistance: lessened. Chance of failure: lessened. Brava!

  4. Thank you for your reminder that there is grace enough in the small things. I have preoccupied recently with trying to sort out the bigger picture and this is a timely reminded to stop and reflect on the little things in life that are just as significant. Then through the small steps I will find the bigger picture much less daunting!

  5. Beautifully written post Marvia. I love the small beginnings as I have seen them growing into abundance and fulfillment.Step by Step, Precept upon Precept. I have found myself drawing back into the Hiddenness of small beginnings again. God in due time will carry me into Manifestation. I’m going to check out the 5 MInute Friday 🙂

  6. Love this, Marvia. I love the picture of grace found in small, and grace to grow into being. Well said, and so powerful! It’s exactly how we should appreciate small. I’m learning to appreciate that myself.

Leave a Reply

