Body Challenge because I Am Worth It

Sunset Thoughts

Sunset Thoughts

Tonight I drove home – worn out and exhilarated.  Blood pumping.  Heart rate up.  Mind awash in the moment – I just committed myself to a 30-day makeover challenge.  Five days out of seven I will challenge me, myself, and I to go beyond our limits.  To burn away the fat, to reshape this flabby body, and get healthy.

 Donuts in Round Rock

Longevity is what I’m after.  I wanna live a long and healthy life.

Kolaches and Sweets

That can’t happen if I’m eating petit-fours, donuts, kolaches, cookies, and sugary foolishness.

As much as I enjoy baked goods – especially the home-made ones, my waist line screams other wise.  Change must be now!

Petit Fours

If I don’t invest in my own health, I’ll just blow up like a whale, so let’s just be honest here:  Ain’t nobody got time for that!

Longevity means taking care of self like never before.

Writing Journal Marvia Davidson

In Story 101 we talk about radical self care, well story-sisters, story-friends, and writing peeps – my 30 day challenge is my acceptance that I am worth it.  I am worth the trouble of sore muscles, flatter abs, toned backside, less flabby wingspan arms, and a heart that beats strong with life.  YeS!

I.  Am.  Worth it.

ME

I own those words tonight.  I’ll own them again tomorrow, and the day after that and the day after that one, and even that one after that last one.  The whispers of worth have been growing in the silent thunder rumbling in my soul.  Yes, I agree with the Maker, I’m worth it.

The Shepherd’s been speaking, but I’ve been just too busy to listen, to believe, to acknowledge.

It’s funny how we so easily can crowd out His voice.  But still it will rise above a whisper at just the right time to pierce our lives – getting our attention.

It beckons be still and know.

Pull Up A Chair and Be Marvia Davidson

So tonight it happened in the sunset of my thoughts, scrolling through Facebook, and then it caught my attention: “Why You Should Blog Everyday.” Because-He gets me.  God knows me.  He knows what word, what phrase, what hope, and what sound will catch my heart.

So truly when the Psalmist says,

Pink Flower Marvia Davidson

O Lord, You have searched me and known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, And are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, But behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;It is high, I cannot attain it.         (Psalm 139; NKJV).

I cannot attain such knowledge because it is beyond my human comprehension, but what amazes me most is that He knew this would be the result – these words spilling from the pads of my finger tips tapping every key – Yes, God knew it would turn out this way.  Me in a chair, computer in my lap, instrumental music in the background, and my thoughts drifting toward Him.

So in the sunset of my thoughts, He turns my heart again to Him.  Oh Heart! Let us not be dismayed.  The whisper of the Lover as always been constant, “you are fearfully and wonderfully made.”  Echoes bouncing back and forth in my heart – I am wanted.  I am loved.  I am – enough.

Piercing Sunlight marvia davidson

You see it’s not just about the body challenge.  It’s deeper.

It is to love self as God loves.  It is to accept self as is not as one wishes.  It is to just be.  It is to embrace the whole of one’s being.  My declaration goes beyond the physical realm.  It is my soul that has said, “I am worth it.”

Why?

Because God is after a different kind of longevity.  He’s after a different kind of transformation.  I can get on board with that.

He’s after my heart – that I bear the image of Him – it’s a total mind, body, spirit, and soul makeover.  I’ll never be that same, and that’s a good thing.

Texas Sunset Marvia Davidson

Sunlight has faded, and night has crept in between the blinds.  I am not afraid.  I am held together by One more faithful than I.  I am loved by One who will not let me go.  This is forever.

His hands upon my soul –  embraced – made me (whole) as I am to be.  He is committed to my transformation even more so than I.

The radical love of God drives home this truth – “You are loved without condition Beloved.” So rest in the knowing and believe now.

 

Reference

NKJV Study Bible.  Radmacher, gen ed. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 1997.

3 thoughts on “Body Challenge because I Am Worth It

  1. Susan – the body challenge is a challenge for sure! I’m only five days in and my body starting to revolt! Mind over matter. Well, it’s going to be an interesting 30 days, but I will keep pushing through. You can do it. I know you can!

  2. Pingback: Failed New Year’s Resolutions and This Time Next Year | The Human Impulse

Leave a Reply

