I'm Quitting Facebook

Shocker.  Call the media.  This is an alert.  I. am. Quitting. Facebook.  It’s been good, don’t get me wrong.  It has wonderful features and means of keeping in touch with friends, family, and people you don’t even really remember.  Yeah, I’m thinking I’m not going to miss it.  Let me tell you why.

 

While it’s wonderful to have quick and easy, instant access to what’s going on with who and when, there’s a human connection peace missing for me.  While I like the updates and postings, I don’t like what it’s done for my creativity and personal interests.  I used to have a few favorite hobbies, but they’ve disappeared as I’ve spent more and more time online.  I remember being taken aback when a friend of mine quite Facebook. I thought, “how is she ever going to stay connected with anyone.  This is horrible.”  But in reality, it deters real life connections.  Call me old fashion, but I’d rather go back to the days of the handwritten note or letter.  Something that takes more than logging in and logging off.  Hand writing forces me to stop, breathe, and think through how I am uniquely bound to the person I’m writing.  I’d like to get out of the media frenzied rat race.

 

When was the last time you had an original thought free from the influence of a media crazed world? I’m thinking it’s time to make some changes and get to a more organic and simplified life. One should not allow life and passion or purpose to be subsumed by outside forces like media saturation.  So I’m going back to the old way in my own kind of way.  Cell phone?  Yes I’ll still have one.  Will it be glued to my hips for constant, nonstop updates? No.  I am choosing to disconnect from too much tech so I can plug back into the more important things in my life.  TV and DVR?  Well, I think it’s time to detach from that stuff too, I mean really.  Who needs to stay stuck in front of the television for hours on end when there’s a world out there to explore.  It’s time to engage, explore, and reignite lost passions.

 

Judge me not.  Each of us has a choice to make, and I’ve chosen mine.  For my own growth and development.  To get back to creativity, craftiness, developing original thoughts, learning something new, baking, discovering hidden talents and ideas.  I’m ready.  Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

